Montgomery Philharmonic 2016 - 17

Our 11th Season – Inspired by…

Concert 1, October 23, 2016 – Inspired by Dance

About Ottorino Respighi –
Respighi was born into a musical family with a father who played the violin and piano and a mother who a singer. His father taught him to play violin and piano at young age and by the time he was 20, he had passed his exams on the violin, viola, and composition to receive his diploma from the Liceo Musicale in Bologna. Respighi served as Composition Professor (1913 until his death) and also Director of the Conservatorio di Santa Cecelia (1924–26). Respighi also served as Principal Violist for the Russian Imperial Theater in St. Petersburg during its season of Italian Opera in 1900. During his time there, he studied composition for five months with Russian composer Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. An orchestral appointment in Berlin is thought to have led to a period of composition study with Max Bruch. After that season, he returned to Bologna where his principal activity, until 1908, was first violinist in the Mugellini Quintet, a touring quintet founded by composer Bruno Mugellini.
Respighi’s compositions began to get noticed in the early 20th century. In 1917, he rose to international attention when the first of his “Roman Triptych” poems,
Fountains of Rome, was played in Rome, the United States, and several other European countries. As a composer, Respighi dips his toe into the modernism of the time, only to draw back to a more conservative style, then delving into modernism, and finally retreating again to his comfort zone. Respighi’s music reflects his surroundings using impressions made by his native Italy and also trips that he made outside Italy. Respighi was also a scholar of Italian music of the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries, publishing scholarly editions of the music of Monteverdi, Vivaldi, and Marcello. This work influenced his set of three Ancient Aires and Dances
  • Born: July 9, 1879 –, Bologna, Italy
  • Died: April 18, 1936 – Rome, Italy
  • Compositions: 38 orchestra works including concerti, suites, overtures, and most famous for his tone poems – The Pines of Rome, The Fountains of Rome, Roman Festivals, 9 operas, 5 ballets, 13 works for voice and piano and voice and orchestra, and 18 chamber works including 4 string quartets
  • Parents: Ersilia Putti, Giuseppe Respighi
  • Spouse: Elsa Respighi (m. 1919)
Ancient Aires and Dances, Suite III (1932) – Ottorino Respighi (1879–1936)
Suite III is the third of three sets of
Ancient Aires and Dances that were inspired by Respighi’s interest in the Italian music of the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries. Suite III differs from the previous two in that it is written for strings only and has a melancholy mood. The music is based on the baroque guitar pieces of Ludovico Roncalli and the lute pieces by Santino Garsi di Parma. In composing the piece, Respighi uses the dance forms of the Italian Renaissance, 1575–1625, with a glance toward the modern era of music from 1917–1932. The resulting music captures the grace, elegance, and brilliance of these old forms and melodies with a modern colors and shaping. It turns out that these new stylings of old music are among Respighi’s most popular works.
Suite II is in 4 Movements –

• Italiana (Anonymous: Italiana (Fine sec.XVI) - Andantino)
• Arie di corte (Jean-Baptiste Besard: Arie di corte (Sec.XVI) - Andante cantabile - Allegretto - Vivace - Slow with great expression - Allegro vivace - Vivacissimo - Andante cantabile)
• Siciliana (Anonymous: Siciliana (Fine sec.XVI) - Andantino)
• Passacaglia (Lodovico Roncalli: Passacaglia (1692) - Maestoso - Vivace)
Instrumentation – strings