Montgomery Philharmonic 2016 - 17

Our 11th Season – Inspired by…

Concert 5, Sunday, May 21, 2017 – Inspired by America

About Kevin Poelking
Kevin Poelking is a professional educator as well as an active percussionist, conductor, and composer in the Washington, DC area. He is currently employed as an instrumental music teacher for Montgomery County Public Schools in Maryland and spends considerable time composing and performing with accomplished ensembles in the Washington, DC area. Poelking attended the University of South Carolina, where he studied under Dr. Scott Herring and received his Bachelor’s Degree in Music Education as well as a Performer’s Certificate in Percussion.

In recent years, Poelking’s compositions have continued to gain momentum, with more frequent performances. He was awarded Arranger of the Year in 2007 for his piece written for the USC Marching Band/Pep Band. In 2014, a portion of Scratch‚Äč for string quartet was selected for The Vox Novus “Fifteen Minutes of Fame” project and performed by the Passione Quartet in Bucharest, Romania. Two more pieces premiered in 2014: Grey Streaks performed by the University of Southern Mississippi Percussion Ensemble and Lucy for SATB chorus and piano by the Academy of Voices in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Poelking recently completed his first piece for full orchestra Terra Nocte, which will receive its world premiere under his baton in May 2017 with the Montgomery Philharmonic.
  • Compositions: Several arrangements for the University of South Carolina Marching Band, Scratch for string quartet, Grey Streaks and Late October for Percussion Ensemble, Lucy for Chorus and Piano, Above the Clouds for Concert Band, Fanfare for Brass and Percussion, and Terra Nocte for Symphony Orchestra

Terra NocteMusic for Orchestra (2016) – Kevin Poelking

During the initial drafts, Terra Nocte was originally intended to be the slow movement of a larger symphony. However, during the composition process, the piece began to establish itself as a piece that could stand alone.  

Although none of the music was composed with any visual images in mind, as the piece neared completion, the opening measures of the music seemed to evoke an atmosphere that inspired the title of “Terra Nocte” (Latin for “Earth at Night”). This loosely metered introduction seemed to paint a picture of a quiet lake under the moonlight, with small disturbances rippling across the smooth surface, and insects, wind, and wildlife singing and stirring around its shores.

Instrumentation – 3 flutes (2nd doubling piccolo), 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, vibraphone, harp, piano, strings